Therefore, since we have been made right in God’s sight by faith, we have peace with God because of what Jesus Christ our Lord has done for us. NLT – Romans 5:1

From the time I was real young, I’ve desired to be in ministry. I used to pretend being Billy Graham when I was young. I still remember the times, when no one else was in the sanctuary, I’d push the pastor’s chair up to the pulpit so I could see over it and pretend I was preaching to a packed stadium. On other occasions, I’d watch my dad fall asleep during the pastor’s sermons. I told myself that one-day I would preach so that my dad would stay awake. Those early decisions in my life have guided me towards full-time ministry. I made the decision that I will always teach about Christ no matter where I teach! I want people to know Christ so that they can live purpose filled lives for Him.

I was born in Lapeer County, MI, in the Spring of 1973. I grew up in a little town, in the same county less than hour north of Detroit. My father worked for General Motors and my mother was a stay at home mom with children. I am a middle child with a brother who is 4 years older and a sister 2 years younger. I grew up in the house my parents built after my father returned home from the Army in 1968. He was drafted into the Army in 1966 and married my mother (still a senior in high school) before he was sent to Germany for 2 years. My grandfather was also drafted into the Army during WWII, and was stationed in California for his 2 years of service. Against my father’s wishes, I volunteered for military service in July 2002, nearly 36 years after he was drafted. Eventually, he came around and I started receiving these amazing heartfelt letters from him while in Basic. He really opened up and shared things with me that I will never forget.

Leave a Reply

