The Plan – confident joy in the journey

Because of our faith, Christ has brought us into this place of undeserved privilege where we now stand, and we confidently and joyfully look forward to sharing God’s glory. NLT – Romans 5:2

I grew up attending the First Baptist Church in town. At the age of 4, I accepted Jesus as my personal Savior and was baptized at 6 years old. I rededicated my life by making a deal with God when I was 13. The deal was – I wanted Him to keep me away from drugs and alcohol because I saw how it affected my older brother and in exchange, I would live for Him. Still to this day, I have no desire for drinking or taking drugs and desire to serve Him in ministry.

The single most influential person in my life was my dad. He came from good Christian parents who were involved in our lives from when we were real young. Even though my father worked a lot, I still wanted him to be at every event and activity I was involved in. I grew up hoping I could be just like him. I often wondered why he had never become a pastor. I asked him one day about him not being a pastor. He told me that he never got the call to do it. I respected that. It told me that the Call of God was an important aspect to ministry. His response has helped me gauge my ministry choices. Doing that has made the difference of where and when I do ministry. It has worked against me as well. It has caused some major conflicts in my life. I like to pray about decisions pertaining to every aspect of my life. I don’t believe it is procrastination as others may view it. I’m not stubborn, but submissive only to Jesus. I’m not arrogant, but instead only wanting to please God.

It seems as if ministry today works with the world’s approval rather than on God’s. I feel that church should more like church and less like a business. I understand that there is business to take care during the day, but when so much time is spent performing tasks and not with people I have a hard time fulfilling my call in ministry. I believe that ministry is not a profession, but a calling to serve others. I really enjoyed working as part of the Unit Ministry Team in the Army because I do better having a ministry of presence rather than sitting in my office waiting for people to come in. Since, my time in the military was cut short, I look forward to an opportunity to serve Veterans.

Leave a Reply

