A Hemi Kind of Faith

In chapter 2, The Plan – confident joy in the journey, I will talk about seeing the Rockies on a trip we made from Michigan to California my senior year of high school. I first saw the Appalachian Mountains the following fall while on tour. It was then that I realized there is a stark difference between the two mountain ranges of the United States.

Here is a sample from chapter 2:

“After leaving the island of Oahu, I took an associate pastor position on Whidbey Island north of Seattle where we could see Mount Baker and at times Mount Rainier. The church was in Oak Harbor, Washington and was across the street from Navy housing. I found myself going from the Army and to working with Navy families. On Sunday, January 2, 2005, I was ordained as a minister of the Gospel. I was thrilled. It was a great ministry because we met some great families with children the same age of our children. In the spring of 2006, the senior pastor led a group to Israel. Since I was ordained, he confidently left the church and all responsibilities in my care. Those two weeks changed my way of thinking and gave me the desire to go to seminary so that I could take a senior pastor position wherever the Lord needed us. In May 2006, Trisha and I decided to take the leap of faith and sell most of our stuff and drive across the country to attend the fall semester at Liberty University in Lynchburg, VA. Our lives not only changed by moving, but we also found out we were pregnant with a third child. With 2 children and another on the way, we left Washington State in August 2006 and drove 3,015 miles to Virginia in a week. Behind our Dodge Ram pickup, we towed a 6’x10’ U-Haul Trailer with everything we physically owned. We believed that the Lord would replace the items we sold in yard sales and find us a home to live in. He did just that. Our 2nd day in Lynchburg, we met a lady who owned a home. On a handshake and giving her first and last month’s rent we lived in that house for 2 years.”

Not sure what type of mountains you have in your life right now, but I can confidently tell you that with the right kind of faith you have driving you makes all the difference.

Leave a Reply

