SHARE IN SUFFERING

PART 4 – THE SUMMIT OF SALVATION

  1. THE ASCENT – SHARE IN SUFFERING

Now, most people would not be willing to die for an upright person, though someone might perhaps be willing to die for a person who is especially good. NLT – Romans 5:7

Where is your focus? Have you become more concerned with how God is treating someone else than you are with how He is relating to you?

Growing up, I had always been insecure. I had always compared myself with others. I don’t know what really happened in the college years, but Christ had got a hold of my heart and changed it. Now that has changed, I am setting my sights on what Christ wants to do through me. I don’t want to compare my life with others anymore. John the Baptist prepared the way for Jesus. Rather than responding to what Jesus told him, Peter looked around at his fellow disciples. The Apostle Paul was not overly interested in his own character. Henry Blackaby wrote, “Oh, to have Paul’s tenacity and devotion to the Father’s will! What joy there is not only to begin well in our Christian faith, but also to end faithfully!”

My eternal goal is to stand before Jesus on judgment day and for Jesus to say, “Well done, my good and faithful servant.” (Matt 25:23) As long as our eyes are focused on our own personal holiness, we will never even get close to the full reality of redemption.

Have an amazing Christmas!

Leave a Reply

