BECAUSE OF OUR FAITH

Because of our faith, Christ has brought us into this place of undeserved privilege where we now stand, and we confidently and joyfully look forward to sharing God’s glory. NLT – Romans 5:2

Listen to me, dear brothers and sisters. Hasn’t God chosen the poor in this world to be rich in faith? Aren’t they the ones who will inherit the Kingdom he promised to those who love him? NLT – James 2:5

As a guitar player, I have always loved putting a lyric to music. Part of my inspiration is God’s Word. The other inspiration comes from my events in life. I’ve always loved reading the Bible. It has helped guide me through some stressful times. Still, I have seen God remain faithful and the Scriptures are evidence of His unfailing love towards me.

The following lyric is from a song I wrote in 1993:

My Faith In You

James 2:5

Chasing the rainbows to the rainbows end

I’m going to find my pot of gold

Some of my wishes seem to come true

Lord I know you always knew

How I needed you by my side to tell me its okay

My faith in You

My faith in You

I know Lord some days will be tougher

Then some other days and I’ll need You

Looking through the pages of my life I’m reminiscing yesterday

When I heard You say

My child I came and died for you Why do you keep running away?

I’ll be here to stay

I gave my life to you because that’s what I wanted to do for you

Okay Lord, it’s. . .

My faith in You

My faith in You

I know Lord some days will be tougher

Then some other days and I’ll need You

Words and Music by Steve Morningstar. Copyright 1993 Morningstar Music. Used by permission.

Here is the story behind the song:

Trish and I had only been engaged for a couple of months when I realized we would have to get immigration’s approval in order to have a wedding.  She was from Canada and I was from the States. We had just found out that it would cost us over a $1,000 U.S. currency to make it happen. The only problem, we were both poor college students just finishing our first year at school. We didn’t know how we were going to pull it off. It took us over a year dealing with immigration, but we made it.

The whole process reminds me of Christ and the sacrifice he made in order to marry his bride. He made the sacrifice because we are worth it. That is how I can sing:

My faith in You

I know Lord some days will be tougher

Then some other days and I’ll need You.

Leave a Reply

