ENDURING EVEREST: SURVIVING YOUR SPIRITUAL DEATH ZONE

We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance. NLT – Romans 5:3

My call to the senior pastorate took place in 1995. It was while I was driving on I-75 in Detroit, MI. From that weekend I changed my major in Bible College. Got accepted to Southern Baptist Seminary, Billy Graham School there. We did not go but went to Omaha, NE to be a youth director at a church and work with Young Life. The story goes on until I accepted my first senior position. In June 2008. It took 12 years to summit that mountain. However, like summiting Everest it was short lived. I was voted out in 6 1/2 months. It was if I was experiencing altitude sickness. I couldn’t catch my breath. I was devastated. Things weren’t much better for me when I came to Danville. I served on staff of a church for 18 months. That is where I called it quits on my call to pastor. Nothing could prepare me for near-death-experience in 2013. I was so ready to stay with the Lord but he gave me my breath back and now I must do all I can to live for him. Writing is my new passion. I love working at LifeWay because I get to talk about Jesus and help customers find resources. I still have that same drive in me that makes me want to quit or give up. I know that drive in me comes from Jesus. I call it disciplined-determination. In other words – endurance. Hence the title “Enduring Everest: surviving your spiritual death zone.” I know it is going to be a good book because it has cost me so much to be write it.

Do you rejoice when you run into problems and trials? Remember they are there to help us develop endurance. What will it take to survive your spiritual death zone?

Leave a Reply

