INTRODUCTION TO ENDURING EVEREST  

 

When we were utterly helpless, Christ came at just the right time and died for us sinners. NLT – Romans 5:6

When I resigned my church ministry position on 10/10/10, I never planned to step out of my relationship with the Lord. I was hurt. I needed time to recover. My well – being was at risk. At 37, my health had suffered to the point of my blood pressure being 200/110 and I was dealing with anxiety, depression, and a mood disorder. I loved the Lord and my family, but I didn’t need to jeopardize my health anymore. It hurt to breathe. It was as if the oxygen was sucked out of my lungs. I have read quite a bit about those who have climbed Mount Everest and the struggle they experience when climbing above 26,300ft/8,000m without bottled oxygen. From this height to the summit is commonly referred to as the death zone. Though I had never climbed Everest or any mountain that high, it felt as if I was trying to survive in the death zone physically, emotionally, and spiritually.

Mountains are a metaphor for life. I compare my life to climbing them. However, not climbing just any mountain – Mount Everest. It has captivated my attention ever since seeing a picture of it in a National Geographic magazine when I was young. From that point, I have had my sights set on climbing it. I took the adventure seriously until I injured my lower back in the Army in April 2003. I stopped dreaming about doing a lot of things since being wounded. I still think of going to base camp when I’m 50 years old. I am a survivor!

When you feel utterly helpless, can you see Christ coming to the rescue? Remember he came at just the right time and died for us sinners. 

Leave a Reply

