SURVIVING THE SPIRITUAL DEATH ZONE

Therefore, since we have been made right in God’s sight by faith, we have peace with God because of what Jesus Christ our Lord has done for us. Because of our faith, Christ has brought us into this place of undeserved privilege where we now stand, and we confidently and joyfully look forward to sharing God’s glory. NLT – Romans 5:1-2

What the spiritual death zone represented in my life was the place in my call to ministry where I didn’t care about anyone or anything. I gave up on others because I felt alone. I didn’t trust many people. I didn’t let anyone in. I didn’t know whom to turn to. What made it so tough was that I looked fine on the outside, but dying inside. It was as if I had trouble breathing. I couldn’t catch my breath. It felt like I was going to die. I physically had trouble walking from the pain of lower back injury. Emotionally, I lost the desire to live. Spiritually, I found no hope; it was gone. I just couldn’t find it. I had faith in the Lord and knew I was loved, but I believed hope was gone. It was at that time that Christ found me.

Surviving the death zone is about me trying to summit without supplemental oxygen. Because of the low oxygen, I struggled for breath. It took another man to save me by getting his oxygen supply to me. His body was too broken to continue down the mountain. He sacrificed his own life to save mine. I’m here to tell my story and his sacrifice. I viewed ministry, becoming the senior pastor, would be the ultimate experiences life could and would offer me. However, I was disillusioned: not misinformed. I had plenty of people, along the way in ministry try to help guide me, but I didn’t listen. Now I’m not climbing anymore.

What is your plan to surviving your spiritual death zone?

Leave a Reply

