FATHERHOOD IS ABOUT MAKING SACRIFICES

For since our friendship with God was restored by the death of his Son while we were still his enemies, we will certainly be saved through the life of his Son. NLT – Romans 5:10

We had Mykila, our first daughter while living in Novi, Michigan in April 1997. A month later I graduated with my A.A. in Liberal Arts from William Tyndale College. The following year, I graduated with my B.A. in Christian Thought/Business Administration with a double minor in Music and Youth Studies from the same school. In August 1998, we headed to Bellevue, Nebraska for a Youth Director position at Avery Presbyterian Church. While there we had our son Gabriel in March 1999. After a year of ministry, I was given the opportunity to run the Young Life Club at Bellevue West High School. I stayed in that position until we left the state. In December of 2000, we moved to California for another church position. 2,500 miles from home was tough on Trisha so we moved back to Imlay City, MI. Back home, I decided to be a substitute teacher in the Lapeer County school system. By November 2001, I started getting requests to sub in Kindergarten classes. I started 2002 with some secured 6-week assignments for teachers taking their maternity leave. I worked from one maternity leave to another. By June of that year, I had subbed for 100 days straight. I believe I was the only male teacher in the county who would sub in early elementary classes. After a couple of years in the Army, I was medically separated from service on November 12, 2004. While serving as an Associate Pastor in Oak Harbor, WA, I decided to start seminary at Liberty University in August 2006.

While living in Lynchburg, VA, we had our third child. Noelani was born in February 2007 just a month after I started serving as the Contemporary Service Worship Leader at Forest Presbyterian Church in Forest, VA. In May 2008, I was called to be Senior Pastor of Pleasant Grove Christian Church in Halifax, VA. The following January 2009, we had our fourth child, Kaleia. Shortly after that, I was called to take a position as Associate Pastor of Youth and Christian Education at Third Avenue Congregational Christian Church in Danville, VA. It was here that we decided to buy our first house and make South Central Virginia home. I was a resident student attending Liberty Theological Seminary in Lynchburg. I completed my M.Div. in May 2009 and my Th.M. in September 2012. After 17 years of marriage to Trisha, having a 14 year old daughter in high school, a 12-year old son in middle school, a 4 year old in preschool, and a 2 year old at home, I find my 140 mile drive 3 days a week my quiet time. I treasure my family, but I looked forward to my time alone with God.

Being a father, I can’t imagine what God might have felt giving up His only son. The Apostle Paul wrote, For since our friendship with God was restored by the death of his Son while we were still his enemies, we will certainly be saved through the life of his Son. (Romans 5:10) The Son died for us while we were enemies. Consider thanking the Father for His Son today.

Leave a Reply

