Honouring, Serving and Respecting God

Peterson wrote, …time to investigate the meaning and significance of certain key words and to explore more fully what it meant for people in Old Testament times to engage with God (p. 55). Worship usually refers to a behavior of given something up much like making a sacrifice. It means that someone submits his or her lives to something or someone. To the Old Testament individual it meant that they submitted their lives to God by making sacrifice. There are different aspects to worship to those who lived in the Old Testament time.

Worship can be seen as an act of service. Serving God to the Israelite explains their relationship with Him. When the Lord freed them from Egyptian slavery He regained the praise. It was then that there was willingness for service towards the Lord. The nation of Israel worshiped God in reverence. He was their God who deserved their respect because of what He did for them.

Worship is an attitude of adoration. Followers adore the God of creation. Adoration was not a form of intimacy with God or an indication of special affection towards him, but rather an expression of awe or grateful submission…(p. 73). God deserved their adoration because of who He was in their lives.

Many times I have asked God to show Himself to me. Many times God has demonstrated himself to me through a situation or circumstance. He has showed His majesty to me. He has given me proof of His awesome power. He has revealed Himself many times. I long to be close to the Lord. I love the idea of worshiping God because of what the word says about Him. I don’t love God because of what He has done for me, but rather who He is to me.

He has been a constant presence in my life. I don’t make sacrifices to Him by work or deed, but rather with my attitude. My attitude is to be judged by how I think, feel and act. I know God looks at my heart to find my worship towards Him. This chapter talked about the meaning of the word worship. The author defined it by looking at Scripture through the eyes of history. He searched the ancient text for meaning.

I have learned that worship has is measured by attitude.

Reference

Peterson, David. Engaging with God: A Biblical Theology of Worship. Downers Grove, IL: Intervarsity Press. 1992.

Leave a Reply

