Nobody Does Not Worship

The author states, We begin with on fundamental fact about worship: at this very moment, and for as long as this world endures, everybody inhabiting it is bowing down and serving something… (p. 17). Everyone worships something. Worshiping is at the core of who we are as created beings. Once sin came in the picture, whom we worshiped got mixed up. Man continues to work at filling the void of emptiness. That void can only be filled with God through his Son Jesus Christ.

We must being with God, not merely because all other beginnings, continuations and endings must be explained in light of his triune Self but because continuous outpouring must above all be informed by and understood in light of his person and work (p. 21). God is the Creator and life itself came from Him. Everything starts with Him. One learns to worship by worshiping the first and the last. God poured Himself into His creation. It brought completeness to Him. He saw His creation and He was satisfied.

…three verifiable realities to guide me both back into Eden and away from it directly to God through Christ: (1) the concept of continuous outpouring as it describes the nature of God; (2) the doctrine of imago Dei; (3) the sojourn of Christ on earth (p. 21). Here the author covers all bases for which God makes Himself known. Man has evidence of God and His presence in these three areas. God has made Himself known to who He is and what He does.

It has taken me some time to get used to the author’s writing style. He is a very heavy writer. His book so far has been heavy into theology. It actually reminded me of reading a theology book. I know that it is a book on the subject of Biblical foundations for worship, but I had misjudged the book by looking at the cover. I expected a more experiential book. I thought the author might have spent more time scratching the surface of the subject; instead he has dived right in and submerged the reader.

I thought the title of chapter 1 was a bit strange. I don’t really think he persuaded me with clarifying the title. He seemed to shoot all over the radar screen. I do understand his description of the outpouring from God. I understand that because I have seen it in my own life. I have found some hope from reading this chapter. It is found in the last sentence of this chapter. It reads We are not left comfortless. Christ has come (p. 26).

What I have learned is to focus on the outpouring of God on my life.

Reference

Best, Harold M., Unceasing Worship. Downers Grove: InterVarsity Press. 2003

Leave a Reply

